Apple Cinnamon Crumble

For years, my two favourite desserts were apple pie and apple crisp (or crumble). Mum would always make something lemon-y or pumpkin-y for my sister but “the plutocrat”, as I was sometimes called, demanded an apple based dessert — so when I was asked to bake apple crumble for an afternoon BBQ, I was only too happy to comply!

DSCN5646

(Worry not, I have since grown to LOVE pumpkin and lemon desserts, something my younger self would have been appalled to hear.)

Pre-heat the oven to 170 C fan (190 C non-fan)

Topping Ingredients:
(I used double this, as I was making a large crisp)
90 g rolled oats
60 g whole meal flour
100 g brown sugar, firmly packed
1 tsp cinnamon
85 g butter

Combine oats (90 g), flour (60 g), sugar (100g), and cinnamon (1 tsp) in a bowl.

DSCN5628

Cut in the butter (85 g) using a paster cutter until the mixture is crumbly.

DSCN5631

That’s your crisp topping complete! The best part is, you can make a bit batch and keep it in your fridge for as long as the butter is good for. Allows for easy impromptu desserts for one or many 🙂

Filling ingredients:
Apples (sliced)
Cinnamon
Sugar
Flour

As I said, mine was a rather large crisp, so I used 16 medium Cox apples. Generally, when choosing apples for baking, keep in mind that a tarter apple makes for a fuller flavour. I mixed the sliced up apples with 1 tbsp cinnamon, 60 g of sugar, and 60 g of flour in a large bowl, then transferred the coated apples into a dish for baking (leaving the excess sugar/flour behind).

CinnamonAppleCrisp04a

Judge your sugar/flour amounts based on the tartness and moisture of your fruit (I generally only use cinnamon for apples).

Cover your crisp in a liberal coating of crisp topping.

DSCN5640

Finally, put the whole thing into your preheated oven. Generally, I cook a 4-person crumble for around 45 minutes, but it is a dessert that allows for playing around with temperature and time. This 45 minute cook time was perfect for my big crisp because it had to be transported and re-heated (for 20 min at 170).
(If your crisp is in a deep dish, turn the temperature down and cook it for longer.) 

It will be bubbling at the sides and the topping will be a nice golden brown when it is finished. You can also use a fork to test that the fruit has reached your desired tenderness.

DSCN5653

Final step:
EAT!

As I type this, I’m cooking up a rhubarb crisp with the extra topping… so… adios!

Leave a Reply

