Banana Bread (of the Marvellously Moist Variety)

Back in the summer I temporarily relocated to London: the city that has everything. Authentic baklava? Done. Vietnamese so delicious you’re mentally transported to the Mekong? Easy. Cuban food that practically plays conga rhythms on your taste buds? No problem. But what if you want something relatively quickly? What if you don’t want to go on a 30 minute trek just to find a large supermarket? What if ALL YOU WANT TO DO is go to your neighbourhood Tesco or Sainsbos for a few key ingredients? Well, if that is the case, allow me to let you in on a tiny list on things you CANNOT find:

apple sauce
chocolate chips
brown sugar

IN LONDON! How is it possible that I can get a million and one pre-made meals for my leisure, pleasure, and convenience, but I CAN’T get apple sauce!?!?!? I feel like a pioneer woman, because YES, I am going to make my own godsbedarnedalltheflippingwaytoheck apple sauce. (A rare and exotic variety.) I’m also going to cut my own chocolate “chips” out of a bar of chocolate. Am I being a tad melodramatic? Perhaps I am. But really. All of this boils down to one. Simple. Question.

Why is godlike domesticity so difficult to achieve in a city with everything?

Warning: these photos are pretty awful. They were taken on my phone. But when it comes down to it: this banana bread is TOO good not to share with the world, regardless of shabby photo quality. It’s one of those friend-of-the-family recipes that I altered a tad.

IMG_0838

Pre-heat the oven to 155 C fan (175 C non-fan)

Ingredients:
156 g plain flour
1 tsp baking soda
200 g brown sugar*

3 bananas
60 ml oil
60 ml apple sauce
2 eggs
45 g chocolate chips (optional)

*optional substitute: 250 g raw sugar

Sift plain flour (156 g) and baking soda (1 tsp) together in a bowl.

In a separate bowl, mash the bananas (3), then add the oil (60 ml), apple sauce (60 ml), and eggs (2). Mix the wet ingredients all together then add the dry mixture.

Banana Bread MixtureStir together and, just before it’s completely combined, add in the chocolate chips. Finish stirring until just mixed. Don’t over stir!

Banana Bread Mixture with Chocolate chips

Pour the batter into a greased and floured loaf pan. I often use parchment paper (along the bottom and the two long sides) to prevent sticking, although I didn’t have any this time.

IMG_0818

Bake 60 minutes — a knife or toothpick should come out clean. Oh ya, and ENJOY!

You can double or quadruple this recipe if you want to make 2 or 4 loaves. I’ve put the recipes below both in UK grams and Celcius, as well as good ol’ Canadian cups and Fahrenheit.

Banana Bread Grams and C

Banana Bread Cups and F

 

Leave a Reply

